Can You Touch The Ball Twice In Padel? Essential Rules

In volleyball, each team can touch the ball three times before sending it to the other side of this net. However, we can’t apply the same rule to sports, and padel is what we are referring to in this case. 

Can you touch the ball twice in padel? The rules for this game may be confusing sometimes. So let us explain how you should play it without violating anything. 

Can You Touch The Ball Twice In Padel? 

The answer is No. In padel, it violates the rules to touch the ball twice. The players may lose one point if they do it. 

Instead, once they hit the ball, it must cross the net onto the other side and then land inbounds so the opponents can return it.  

What if you hit the ball twice accidentally?

In padel games, a player may sometimes hit the ball twice by accident.

For example, they hold their racket in a way that makes the ball touch their fingers first (counted as a hit) before touching the racket to get hit. 

This double hit is hard to be seen by spectators, the umpire, and even the opponent players. Hence, the offending players may skip it. 

Many padel players may prefer to accept responsibility for their double hits in this situation, giving up the point after doing so.

However, many players won’t admit it. When competing against them, ensure to keep an eye on them whenever they play shots. 

What if you scoop the ball? 

Shots with the ball remaining on the racket longer than normal are scoops or push shots.

More specifically, once the balls hit the racket’s face, it remains there as the player swings the racket. And when the player has finished their stroke, the ball will leave. 

In a standard shot, the ball bounces once on the racket, while it does twice in a double shot. Hence, a push shot or scoop is a single hit, not the double or illegal one. 

The problem with these shots is that you must ensure the ball only bounces once on your racket. Otherwise, the umpire will assume that you have struck a double hit.

Do not touch the ball twice in padel
Do not touch the ball twice in padel

How Many Times Can You Hit The Ball In Padel? 

You can only hit the ball once in padel. If the umpire claims that you have performed a double hit, you will lose one score. 

Only one player may hit the ball at a time when it’s on one side of this padel court. A team gives up a point if one player touches the ball twice or if it strikes both players. Therefore, be careful not to hinder your teammate’s shots!

Having a good connection with your partner is critical so you can guess where they will strike the ball and when they will execute certain shots.

You can only touch the ball once
You can only touch the ball once

Will A Padel Serve Bounce Twice? 

The answer is No. The ball shouldn’t bounce twice in either the opponent’s ground or the opposing service section. The server will score if your ball touches the opponent’s court twice.

The point will be valid if your ball doesn’t touch the net during its second bounce in the opponent’s serve’s reception area.

Regardless of whether the ball landed against the wall or beyond the service box, the serving duo will score a point if the player who should receive the ball strikes it before it rebounds.

The ball should bounce once
The ball should bounce once

This video will show you more information about padel server rules:

Should The Ball Bounce Off The Glass Or Off Ground First?

The answer will reveal how to consider if your ball is out or in. The rules are as follows:

  • The ball is still in if it hits the surface first. 
  • The ball is considered out in case it bounces off the glass first. 

However, in some cases, the ball may land at an angle between the ground and the wall. We call it “huevo” or “egg ball.” To determine the result, you have to check the spin and trajectory of the ball. 


The player most likely knocked the ball off the surface first if the ball rebounds at an angle that is higher than when it initially came in.

A qualified ball arrives at waist level and jumps higher than that level. 

The ball, though, is likely to strike the glass first if the rebound happens at the ankle or knee level.


Another indication is the ball’s spin when it bounces off the ground. The player will probably strike the glass and send it forward with a strong spin toward the net.

However, a ball that lands first will generate a backspin. It bounces at a higher trajectory while dropping as a result.


At a return angle, the spin is difficult to detect. So, your only option is to focus on the trajectory.

If the ball rebounded in the direction of your ankle or knee, it touched the side glass first. However, if it bounced normally, it fell on the ground first.

Another confusing case is when the padel ball hits the fence. You need to lean on its trajectory to identify its path. 

If the ball shoots toward the middle section of the court, it has touched the fence first. But if it strikes the ground, it will bounce a little higher. 

However, there are scenarios where the ball rebounds off the surface, touches the fence and finally rolls toward the middle.

The ball can be in or out depending on its trajectory and spin
The ball can be in or out depending on its trajectory and spin


You can only hit the ball once in padel. Double hits are unacceptable, so be careful when striking the ball. 

Learning the rules carefully is a must if you want to join this game. If you find it complicated, don’t hesitate to contact us for more explanation. 

Thank you for reading!

5/5 - (1 vote)